Girl’s Tennis

Girls’ Tennis began in 1965 under Coach Elaine MacFarland who posted five undefeated seasons in seven attempts.  Sr. John Paul followed with two years, while Mary Landon headed one.  Kathleen Koester began her first year at the helm in 1975 and produced the first girls’ league championship (SBC) in 1976 when the sport moved from a spring season to the fall.  Two seasons later, the Lady Senecas won the SBC once again in Koester’s final year as head coach.  This 1978 title marked the final league title that would be won in the SBC.  Sr. John Paul returned to head duties for one season in 1979.  Elaine MacFarland-Dayton returned in 1980 and stepped down after the 1985 season.  Louise Pardi took over in 1986 and was the head coach for a total of five seasons.  The 1988 season was her best, as three of her players were regional qualifiers.  Dave Kimmet replaced Pardi in 1991 and continues in that post.  In his first season the Lady Senecas went 13-2, breaking the record for most wins in a season.  Kimmet’s 1994 squad (14-3) broke his own record for wins in a season.  The Lady Senecas then took their first NWOCSA crown in 1996 and were undefeated in 1997 (14-0) for the first time in 24 years.  The 14 victories tied the mark of the 1994 team.  Kimmet was not done yet.  Following the perfect season in 1997, Kimmet’s teams won five more NWOCSA titles in the next eight seasons, including three in a row from 1998-2000.  The 2005 NWOCSA title marked the sixth one in 10 seasons.  The 2006 season was the first time in the history of the program in which a player received All-Ohio honors, with Emma Haley being named second team All-Ohio.  Starting in 2010, Karen Kapelka-Kwiat became the new girls tennis coach, and continues in that position.